top of page
Search

Travel Anxiety

When I moved to London after leaving my tiny little Scottish village I knew I was in for a slight culture change, especially in the world of transport. I was used to quiet trains that ran every few hours and seeing the same people on the trains everyday. More often than not you would get a seat and the journey rarely had any problems. However, one of the first things I experienced in London was the chaos of the London Underground...in rush hour...



Everyone in London is a commuter - whether this be walking, cycling, taking the bus or probably most commonly the tube. Everyone is in a rush to get somewhere regardless of the time of day. When I arrived at the tube station for my first day of work back in 2016 I felt so overwhelmed! Being someone who was not a big fan of crowds I was freaking out. I had never seen so many people in one place before, huddled together like sardines, pushing to get to the nearest door as the tube pulls into the platform. For the first time I experienced the frantic rush of people pushing and shoving to get on the tube with the aim of reaching that one available seat! It was petrifying!


Even now, after being here for 3 years, I still find the tube a scary place. Its not only the busyness of the tube, but its also the whole concept of being stuck so far underground in a metal cage. I have had times before where there has been signal failure on my line and I have been stuck underground in the middle of two stops for a long period. In these times you are in theory trapped - there is no fresh air, there are lots of people (usually annoyed and frustrated), no toilet and no phone signal! In those situations I feel unreal levels of stress. I feel so claustrophobic knowing there is nothing I can do to get of that tube in that moment. Although it happens rarely, anytime I am on route home and the tube pulls to a stop I have the fear that I am going to be stuck there for hours.


I know I am not alone in feeling a level of anxiety towards the tube, but there are a few things you can do to make the journey slightly easier for yourself. Here are my 5 top tips for tube time travel anxiety...


1 - If lots of people triggers your anxiety then try to avoid rush hour times. I choose to leave for work around 7:50 each morning. It gets me into the studio half an hour earlier than I need to be there, however it means the tubes are slightly quieter and they usually fly through. I know if I waited until 8:10am to get on the tube that I would be 10 times busier, I'd be getting pushed and shoved from all angles and it is more likely to get held up.


2 - Plan your route and a back up route. I have had times before where there have been closures on my line or major delays so getting to work hasn't been easy. In times like this I have been so grateful that I have been aware of alternative ways to get to work. Being aware of other routes will stop you feeling a sense of panic where your primary route is out of action. If it makes you feel more comfortable you could try an alternative route on a weekend just to get your bearings. I always do this if I am nervous about going somewhere new - I take a practice run so on the day things go smoothly.


- Keep breathing. I spoke in my last blog about the importance of breathing. If you feel yourself getting stressed close your eyes and take a few deep breathes to focus and calm yourself and your body. Again practice this type of breath at home so it becomes more effective when you feel anxious in stressful times.


3 - Distraction! I find I panic on the tube when I start thinking a little bit too much! I find it best to have a good podcast downloaded or a book I can read on my journey to and from work. Having that little distraction makes the journey so much quicker. And on the off chance you get stuck then at least you have some entertainment for the wait.


4 - Take some water. I know you see signs plastered all of the place notifying you to not travel without it. The tubes are dry and warm basically all-year round. Keep hydrated and look after your health. If your health is good then your mental health will feel better too. If you feel dizzy cause you are dehydrated it could send your brain into a nervous spiral. Drink lots of water!!


5 - Lastly even though the tube can be a scary place TFL has been super amazing and set up a few different tube maps that you can download to offer a helping hand for different anxieties. If being underground is what makes you stressed there is a map to show you what lines are mostly overground. If its toilet access, there is a map you can download for tube stations that have loos. You can find a link to the maps here: https://tfl.gov.uk/info-for/media/press-releases/2017/july/new-map-to-help-people-with-claustrophobia-and-anxiety


Before I sign off today I wanted to tell you all about 'The Enthusiast' (@theenthusiast.co). Set up by a super lovely lady who prides herself and encourages others to champion enthusiasm. One of the most wonderful things she has created are the 'happy to move for you' badges. You will find people who are pregnant wear 'baby on board' badge or those with hidden disabilities have 'please offer me a seat' so people on the tube know to offer their seat up to them. But the 'Happy to move for you badge' are a lovely way of offering your seat rather than asking for a seat.


We have all had days stuck on the tube where it is overcrowded, maybe to hot and we feel dizzy. Those days where you have just had a really bad day in the office and you feel like the world is against you. Or even those days where you might have just had some bad news and are feeling really emotional. These badges are an amazing way of offering support to anyone who feels like they need a seat without having to explain why. By wearing a 'happy to move for you' badge then anyone in need of a seat knows they have a safe place to ask for yours. It is a great way to support people who maybe do suffer from anxiety on the tube, especially if having the comfort of a seat will offer them some level of feeling safe on their journey home. For anyone interested you can buy the badges here: https://www.theenthusiast.co/shop/happy-to-move-for-you-transport-badges-tube-train-bus They arn't expensive and with each purchase money is donated to charity!! Plus it pays to shop small and support people doing good just because they can!


I wish you all a wonderful week of stress free travel ahead. Remember be aware of people on the tube, and if someone looks like they need a seat more than you, be kind and offer it up to them! If the shoe was on the other food you would want someone to do it for you!


Until next week...


Kirsty x

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page